Bail Bonds and Drunken Driving Charges in Southern California

What should you know about DUI charges and bail bonds?   Times have changed, and with them, so have the laws concerning drunken driving and the need for bail. In the past, an officer would stop someone who had been drinking and driving and send them along with a warning to go home and not pass go or collect $200.



Getting pulled over for driving under the influence starts a nasty ball rolling, depending on what the driver did. If speeding was involved or the driver failed to obey traffic signs or run past lights, the police are justified in pulling over the vehicle to run standard sobriety tests to ensure the driver presents no threat to other drivers and pedestrians.

If the test results exceed the legal blood alcohol limit, which is 0.08 percent, the driver will be arrested and taken to a hospital or a jail.  In California, according to the dictates presented in DrivingLaws.org, in certain circumstances, a driver can be eligible to enter a plea of a “wet reckless,” which would knock the charges from a DUI to reckless driving. This can only occur if the driver has had no prior offenses, did not cause an accident and the level of alcohol is almost but not quite over the limit. 

 

In Southern California, particularly, a bail bond isn’t always necessary with DUI charges but it usually is if an accident with or without injury has occurred, the arrestee is rude or violent with the arresting officer, there have been multiple drinking or driving offenses, the driver is under the age of 18, and in the more serious instances, when a hit and run or vehicular manslaughter has occurred as the result of someone’s drinking.

If the above-mentioned circumstances don’t apply, those charged with drinking and driving should hold off initiating a bail bond. On the other hand, if any of these examples do ring true, a bail agent should be notified immediately in the hopes that the arrestee will be released before the process is even completed.

If a driver refuses to submit to a sobriety test, he or she will be immediately arrested for drunk driving with the additional “refusal allegation” tacked onto the original charge. In addition, that driver’s license can be suspended for up to one year.  A California bail bondsman should be contacted if previous incarcerations are involved because in this case judges will often order jail time until bail is properly posted.

California is one of the nation's top states for strict laws against DUI. These statutes have helped to decrease the number of drinking and driving accidents and fatalities. The fee for a bail bond in California is 10% of the total bail, and there are never any charges. This fee is usually paid in advance of bailing someone out of jail.

The moral of the story if there is one:

 If you want to drink, stay home where your level of toxicity can only damage inanimate objects.

 

 

Posted by M Dee Dubroff, on February 13, 2013 at 9:00 AM